Comments on the Future of the 42nd St. Library

Standard
1508183_614413028632801_462322140_n
“You want to photograph me eating chicken?”
“Yep.”
“Well, if I let you, I need you to help me deliver a message.”
“What’s that?”
“I work at this library. And before that, I was coming here for twenty years. It’s my favorite place in the world. As many people know, the main reading room of this library is supported by seven floors of books, which contain one of the greatest research collections …in the world. Recently, the library administration has decided to rip out this collection, send the books to New Jersey, and use the space for a lending library. As part of the consolidation, they are going to close down the Mid-Manhattan Library Branch as well as the Science, Industry, and Business Library. When everything is finished, one of the greatest research libraries in the world will become a glorified internet cafe. Now read that back to me.” [photograph by Brandon Stanton]
Stop the NYPL’s plan to gut the 42nd St. Library, send 1.5 million books to NJ, and sell the Mid-Manhattan and SIBL libraries.

 

More info: www.savenypl.org

 

 

Leave a Reply

